GUTGAA Meet and Greet

This week the “gearing up to get an agent” contest kicks off- it’s a huge contest with great opportunities to get your work in front of agents. The first part of the contest and blog hop is a “meet and greet” post. If you want to check out the contest itself, go here!

Questions for the Meet and Greet
I live in the midwest but love to travel. Currently I’m in Alberta, Canada, actually, for a friend’s wedding. I love Harry Potter and Pride and Prejudice and anything by John Green, can’t live without music, and tell my friends more than they want  to know about writing and publishing. I am finishing the first draft of my 2nd novel this week (fingers crossed- I’m visiting friends and helping with a wedding!). I write adult and young adult fantasy and contemporary. I’m also an editorial intern with Entangled Publishing and an English teacher. I blog here and over at YA Stands.
-Where do you write?
 Usually I write in my library- a tiny half-bedroom upstairs. I do a lot of writing on my ebook, however, when forced to leave my library.
-Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see?
 Well, I’m in Canada right now, but if I were in my library, to my immediate left is my Keurig. I love it because then I don’t have to stop writing and go downstairs to get coffee. I push a button, and keep writing.
-Favorite time to write?
I teach full-time and year-round, so I don’t really get to pick when I write. Usually it’s from 6:30-8:30 most nights. I’ve been writing a lot later for the past month because I’m marathoning my current WIP.
-Drink of choice while writing?
 Coffee. I wish it was something more exciting, but then I get distracted from my writing. 🙂
-When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence?
Usually I play a mix of Switchfood, Brandi Carlile, Mumford and Sons, and Florence and the Machine. But for really tricky scenes, I need quiet.
-What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it?
 Some of my growing up experiences contributed to my current WIP, but mostly the story just came to me as a big “what if?” one day.
-What’s your most valuable writing tip?
 When you read, find the scenes that make you feel something intense. Get a notepad and jot down how the author did it. Figure out why that scene affected you. Also read good books on writing. One of the tabs up top has a list of ones I have read and recommend, so check them out. 🙂
Thanks for stopping by, and good luck in the contest if you’re entering!

20 thoughts on “GUTGAA Meet and Greet

  1. I can’t write without music either. I like your tip, although I must say it’s easier to find a scene that you HATE and figure out what the author did wrong. I say this because a scene that works is usually so polished you have to work extra hard to see what’s going on beneath the shine.

  2. Dear Kate,

    Nice to meet you. I enjoyed your answers to the GUTGAA questions. Does it help to be an intern in the publishing industry to see the business side of things? What insider tips have you picked up in that position? I like your idea of finding scenes in books that had an impact and analyzing the “why” of what made that work. Happy writing!

    Warm regards,

    Don #138

  3. What Ifs can yield great story ideas. Especially when you keep going with the what ifs and pile up the conflicts. I’ve heard Mumford is excellent in concert — I have friends obsessed with them! (I like my music a little rougher around the edges — The White Stripes, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, or really glossy and pretty like M83).

    good luck with writing and GUTGAA! Here’s my GUTGAA Meet & Greet post: A Girl and her Diary

  4. Ooh, I love Mumford & Sons! And, yes, becoming a student of what you read–especially those high intensity scenes is invaluable. Lately I want to just start underlining/highlighting all the novels I read, just like I do with craft books. Nice to get to know you more, Kate. Your blog is one of my favorites lately!

  5. Great to meet you! I love your picture – what a great shot. And thanks for the advice – I haven’t tried that yet, but I can see how breaking apart something that’s working can help your writing. Best of luck with all the GUTGAA fun!

Leave a Reply

