Anniversary Critiques

UPDATE: I’ll continue to take submissions through 11pm tonight, 11-26. 

Hello, readers! This month marks the end of my first year of blogging here at The Bookshelf. Being a part of the blogging community and the online writing community has been invaluable to me as a writer, reader, and teacher. So many authors and agents have critiqued my work simply out of their own generosity, and I’d like to give back to those who have given me so much- including you, my readers, who comment on my posts, tweet my links, and follow my journey to publication with enthusiasm. I appreciate every one of you.

So, to celebrate my blog’s anniversary and to give back to the online community,  I am giving away some critiques! I’ll critique the first 500 words of your manuscript, complete or incomplete. Any genre  is allowed. My notes will cover both strenghts and weaknesses as well as any relevant publishing tips I know of that may help you present your work to agents/editors in the most successful way possible. Reading submissions for Entangled Publishing has taught me a lot, and I’ll read your pages the same way I read for my internship- with an eye toward both quality and marketability.  Of course, this will all be my own opinion, and I certainly don’t know everything! I can promise, though, to give you honest feedback.

Send me your 500 words in an attached .doc, .docx, or rtf file. Please include in the file your name, the manuscript title, age category, genre, and word count (or mark “incomplete”). Basically, do this:

Kate Brauning

BEST TITLE EVER

YA sci-fi

55,000 words

Send the email to katebrauning(at)gmail(dot)com before 11pm central time, follow my blog, and you’ll get your critique! I’d love for you to spread the word, too! If you have any questions, feel free to email or find me on Twitter- @KateBrauning
Thanks for reading, and happy holidays!

8 thoughts on “Anniversary Critiques

  1. Pingback: First Anniversary! | small house/BIG GARDEN

  2. Congrats on your blogging anniversary! And a great big THANK YOU for the Anniversary Critiques!! Will definitely be sending my 500 words.

  3. THANKS for your kind offer.
    CONGRATS on your 1st Anniversary.
    May you have many more.
    The deed has been done, for my submission has taken its trip
    through the mysterious world known as The Internet.

    😀 😀 😀

  4. Hi, Kate. Congrats on your blogging anniversary. Came across your blog and this giveaway on Twitter. I think it’s cool what you’re doing as appreciation. Will sure send my 500 words.
    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

