The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

The indomitable Nikki, my critique partner, tagged me in her blog post, so you get to hear a little bit more about my current writing projects. I’m gearing up to query one and plotting the other- and I’m madly in love with both of them. Since I don’t want them to be jealous of each other, I’ll be talking about them both. 🙂

What is the working title of your book?

MOON RIVER is currently having her pitches and query perfected. THE BALLAD OF DINAH CALDWELL is in that magical stage of prewriting, before I’ve put words down and discovered how challenging this particular MS will be.

Where did the idea come from for your book?

MOON RIVER: I grew up in Missiouri, and I’ve wanted to write a book about my roots for a long time. However, this book isn’t about anything that happened during my childhood to anyone I knew. A cousin romance just seemed like a fascinating complication to a more traditional best friend love story.

DINAH: The band Mumford and Sons first gave me the idea, honestly.

What genre does your book fall under?

MOON RIVER is YA contemporary. I’m not quite sure about DINAH yet, but it’s also YA.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh gosh. I’m better with soundtracks than actors. I’d pick some Mumford and Sons, Florence and the Machine, and Lindsey Stirling for DINAH’s sound track. For MOON RIVER, I’d use Brandi Carlile, Regina Spektor, Jon Foreman, and a few songs from classic movies.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

MOON RIVER- A family secret, a stranger, a murdered classmate: being in love with her cousin may get Jackie killed.

DINAH: No pitch yet, but it’s a revenge story set in the Ozark Mountains, about an impoverished girl struggling with justice.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m a sucker for hardcopy books I can find while wandering around in a library. I did that so much as a kid, I want someone to discover my books that way. So, I want an agent!

How long did it take for you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

MOON RIVER: 6 weeks

DINAH: We’ll see! I plan to start writing pages in January.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

MOON RIVER: How I Live Now.

DINAH: Christy meets Book of Eli.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

MOON RIVER: Jackie’s voice. It came so easily for me, and I hope Jackie’s pragmatic humor and quirky view of the world comes through as clearly as I think it does. Jackie also has a love for classic films; Casablanca and Breakfast at Tiffany’s in particular are used as motifs throughout the story.

DINAH: Mountain music with an O Brother Where Art Thou flavor will be a strong motif, so writing to reflect that will be really interesting for me. The setting, also, will be unique. The Ozarks are a special place, and the setting will dramatically impact the story. A revenge story always makes for a high-stakes read, too.

TAG TIME!

@_KateMichael aka Kate Michael. She’s a great YA writer and a lovely person.

@JeriWB aka Jeri Walker-Bickett- a dedicated writer and passionate book person.

Have fun, ladies!

6 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Kate Michael » The Next Big Thing: Learn About The Author

  2. Yay! You’re making such great progress. I’ve been meaning to download Mumford and Sons, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I actually wrote something for this particular blog hop at the end of September, but thanks so much for thinking of me. I wish I could say I drafted my book in six weeks. Must work on gaining speed and less self-editing as I go! You are quite inspiring in that regard.

Leave a Reply

