Interview with Mindee Arnett and The Nightmare Affair

Mindee Arnett is the author of The Nightmare Affair, the first in the Arkwell Academy Series just released this month, and Avalon, a YA sci-fi thriller coming 2014.

Hello, Mindee, and welcome to the blog! I’m thrilled to have you here at The Bookshelf. Ever since I heard the title, and especially since I saw the cover, The Nightmare Affair caught my attention. Readers, you have to see this blurb from Mindmarnett_authorphoto_smallee’s website:

16-year-old Dusty Everhart breaks into houses late at night, but not because she’s a criminal. No, she’s a Nightmare.

Literally.

Being the only Nightmare at Arkwell Academy, a boarding school for magickind, and living in the shadow of her mother’s infamy, is hard enough, but when Dusty sneaks into Eli Booker’s house, things get a whole lot more complicated. He’s hot, which means sitting on his chest and invading his dreams couldn’t get much more embarrassing.

But it does.

Eli is dreaming of a murder. The setting is Arwkell.

And then his dream comes true.

Now Dusty has to follow the clues–both within Eli’s dreams and out of them–to stop the killer before more people turn up dead. And before the killer learns what she’s up to and marks her as the next target.

Doesn’t that sound amazing? And take a look at this gorgeous cover!

Nightmare-Affair-FINAL

 So, since I’m such a fangirl, I asked Mindee to come here for a fun interview and she graciously agreed. She has answers to a few of my have-to-know questions, and she helped my fabulous assistant Talynn Lynn and me put together a really fun student brochure for Arkwell Academy!

Kate: Mindee, what is it that attracts you to fantasy?

Mindee: I think I’m just hardwired for it. I’ve always been attracted to speculative fiction. Some of my love for it I probably picked up from my sister who is a huge fantasy and science fiction fan and who has always been a big influence on me.

Kate: I’ve loved speculative fiction ever since I read The Velveteen Rabbit. The imagination factor is magnetic for me. So, the Nightmare Affair is the first of a series, correct? Do you have any exciting news about future books?

Mindee: I do! The official title for book 2 is The Nightmare Dilemma. And it starts off with Dusty being asked to investigate a new crime, this one directed at one of her friends. She’s also dealing with the aftermath of book 1, especially in terms of her and Eli.

Kate: That sounds amazing. I’m almost finished reading The Nightmare Affair and I can’t put it down. The criminal investigation element is such a fun addition to your fantasy world. Out of all the books you could have written, why did you pick this one? What convinced you that this was a book you had to write?

Mindee: You know, I’m not really sure. For me, the story is always boss. It’s like being in a boat on a fast river and not having any oars. I can either ride along or bail out, depending on how much fun the story is and how far along it takes me. With The Nightmare Affair, I was having fun and just stuck with it until the ride ended.

Kate: I’m glad you did! It’s a charming story and I can’t wait to see how it ends.  So many of the details, like the fairies’ addiction to sugar and the trash trolls, are just so fun and unique. Thank you so much for being here and for helping us create the student brochure for Arkwell!

nightmare affair-3
Readers, here are some places you can find Mindee:
Pick up a copy of The Nightmare Affair and enjoy!
Special thanks to Talynn for helping me put this together!

Leave a Reply

