October Reading Challenge

I’m in between writing projects at the moment. Upcoming revisions, yes, but I’m not currently writing a manuscript. After finishing this third manuscript, I’ve realized that my writing has changed so, so much from when I first started trying to write seriously. I’m not talking about quality, though hopefully there’s been improvement. I’m talking about style and voice. The kind of story that catches my attention. The types of characters I like to write. The themes that I bring in and the way the plot unfolds. Not at all what I expected to be doing when I first started this. (This doesn’t surprise me. I change my mind a lot.)

One the reasons my writing has changed is my reading has changed. I’ve started reading more broadly, across genres and categories and topics. I’ve found a lot of stuff I love that I never expected to strike my interest. The diversity has really challenged my writing. Partially because of that, and partially because I want to catch up on my TBR pile, I’m starting a reading challenge. 15 books in October; one every two days. I’ll be posting book thoughts here a few times a week, I hope– not full book reviews, just quick thoughts.

Here’s the first!

Started yesterday, finished today:  THE 5th WAVE by Rick Yancey. YA sci-fi thriller.

I LOVED this book. I heard it described as Ender’s Game meets The Passage. Since I have to read so critically for my writing and editing, I sometimes struggle to set that part of me aside and just be a reader. THE 5TH WAVE completely engrossed me. Suspense, mystery, danger, gorgeous writing. Absurdly compelling characters. Evan is delightful. Cassie is intensely relatable. I couldn’t put this book down, and I am currently Googling the sequel to find out when it releases. I highly recommend reading this book.

Specifically recommended for: Anyone who loved HUNGER GAMES. Writers looking for dual POV in 1st person that maintains distinct voices or a good example of carefully built suspense. Readers looking for upper YA that’s gritty and dark but doesn’t wallow in tragedy.

Also on my list for this month:

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

The Girl Who Played With Fire

The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

Shadow of Night (sequel to A Discovery of Witches)

Catching Fire (nope, haven’t read it yet)

Beautiful Creatures

Insurgent (see previous parenthetical comment)

Sharp Objects

Twenty Boy Summer

I have room for 5 more. Recommendations? Tons I COULD read– what would you recommend? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “October Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

