My Awesome Book News

I have just a tiny bit of news today. News I’ve been sitting on for what felt like a century. News I could not be happier to share. Any guesses? πŸ™‚

Deal

My book sold. A pre-empt, and releasing this November. Yes, it’s fast. Yes, it will be a fall book. Catch me if I pass out.

Merit is a wonderful imprint over at F&W Books, and if Jacquelyn Mitchard’s name sounds familiar, it’s because she’s the author of Deep End of the Ocean (and about 20 other books, includingΒ  What We Saw At Night and What We Lost In The Dark.) She’s made a name for herself as an author and an editor, and I am so thrilled to have her as my editor. Merit and F&W are the perfect place for HOW WE FALL, and their enthusiasm for my book has blown me away. I never imagined I’d be dealing with a pre-empt, but I’m so confident in the team at Merit that it’s very much a crazy dream come true.

I love this book with everything in me. It’s a quirky YA taboo suspense about obsession and emotional honesty and not letting the world tell you who to be. And I’m so excited to send it out into the world.

I’m so thankful to my brilliant and wonderful agent, who believed in this book (and me) from the start. Her confidence has kept me going. Thank you for making this happen, Carlie.

My incredibly patient husband, Jesse, has been my biggest supporter. He’s kept up with the writing process, the querying process, and now submission through to a book deal. He’s had to deal with my insanity for years now, and I genuinely couldn’t have done this without him. A bit of who he is works its way into every YA guy I write, so thanks for being my inspiration, Jesse.

My family and friends have put up with my babbling about one day being an author since I was twelve. Evenings making dinner in the kitchen with my mother while I discussed my high school WIP with her gave me the confidence to think I wasn’t crazy in wanting to do this. (And maybe I was crazy, but hey, it happened!) To all of you (Lydia, Rebekah, Trish, Robin, Lynn, Matt, Jess, Sean, Sam, Jake, Nick, Bree, Hannah, Mark, Rebecca, oh my word, all of you) thank you for the support and encouragement and confidence.

And to my critique partners and writing friends– to everyone who read some version of HOW WE FALL, you guys have been one of the biggest factors in this happening. I love you for it. I love you for being honest with me and tough with your notes, for all the conversations and advice and patience and brilliant ideas. HOW WE FALL wouldn’t be the book it is without you.

Stay tuned, readers- there’s a lot more news about HOW WE FALL coming soon. πŸ™‚

40 thoughts on “My Awesome Book News

  1. Pingback: Links for a Lazy Sunday | Hardcovers and Heroines

  2. Wow, Katie! This is so exciting! And if it’s exciting to me, I can only imagine what it feels like to you. Congratulations!

  3. That’s great!!! I remember you talking about being a writer when we were kids. I’m excited to hear you will be published!

  4. YEA!!! Congrats! We love you!

    Dad

    >________________________________ > From: The Bookshelf >To: stevebrauning@yahoo.com >Sent: Wednesday, March 19, 2014 11:30 AM >Subject: [New post] I Have A Book Deal! > > > > WordPress.com >KateBrauning posted: “I have just a tiny bit of news today. News I’ve been sitting on for what felt like a century. News I could not be happier to share. Any guesses? πŸ™‚ My book sold. A pre-empt, and releasing this November. Yes, it’s fast. Yes, it will be a fall book. ” >

  5. What wonderful news, Kate! I follow your blog regularly, though I often don’t comment. So I just wanted to pop in today to give you a giant virtual squishy hug and tell you CONGRATS! I appreciate how genuine and giving you are in all that you do, and I’m sure that same spirit shines through to your writing. I can’t wait for your book to debut! XO

  6. Congratulations!!!!! I’m ecstatic for you!!! You’ve worked your talented butt off – you deserve this. This is just the beginning, baby!!! xo

  7. Cool Beans! Amazing news for you and Jesse! My congrats on your continues success. I honestly can’t say I recognize the publisher or the books that she has written but you sure sound enthusiast about it. Blessings and I. Hope this brings you and Jesse together even more.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  8. Kate! Wonderful news!! I’m not at all surprised, because it’s a wonderful book and I’m SO GLAD you didn’t take out the cousin-thing. πŸ™‚ ha ha. πŸ™‚ HUGE CONGRATS!!!!

Leave a Reply

