Stress And Writing

The stress is getting to me, guys.  I have a book coming out in 7 weeks, one with a dual conflict (rare) and a unusual romance (controversial) with an even more controversial ending (which I love). I’ve also just gone through a major job change that’s requiring a lot of work. And reviews from critics are starting to come in, I’ll finally get to see my book in hardcover when my author copies arrive this week (hopefully!), and I’m knee-deep planning my physical-but-also-virtual launch party (you’re invited!), and I’m 40,000 words into my next MS. Plus, my husband and I partnered with a photographer friend this summer to open up a studio where creative arts professionals can purchase a subscription to the space and come work. Add to that the intense amount of traveling my husband and I have been doing for our careers, and I’m tired. And brain-fried. And stressed.

I’m also happy, and enjoying working on the new MS, and excited to start revising the one I have drafted and waiting in the wings. I have started a warm-water aquarium (I love tropical fish), started a weightlifting class with a friend (if there ever is a zombie apocalypse, I can now save you), and am really enjoying the new seasons of my favorite shows that are hitting Netflix. So, life is wonderful, yes.

But stress. All the million things running through my brain all day. All the worry that there might be something helpful I could be doing for HOW WE FALL that I’m not doing. The change in gears to writing a strictly contemporary story. The worry that I will never be as good a writer as I want to be, that I might not be able to bring a story home and do the concept justice. (I WILL TRY.)

And the stress is a problem, because it’s what holds me back from just doing what I need to do, realizing that how well I write is in my own hands, and most of this is just one-day-at-a-time stuff. Stress overrides what I know. As a side note, if you get the chance to encourage a writer, do it. That little positive bump can mean a lot.

So, this is me staying honest on the blog and letting you know how it’s going. It’s also me saying I’m not going to let the stress control my decisions and it’s not going to take me down. I’ve beaten a whole lot of things to get here, and I just need to get a little more balance and find good way to blow off steam. I’m going to get enough sleep, keep up weightlifting, block off enough time each week for things that aren’t work, and keep reading awesome books. (Recently read and highly recommended: THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers, and SEX & VIOLENCE by Carrie Mesrobian. Both brilliant, completely absorbing, and powerfully written.)

Do you have a stress management plan for yourself? What do you do for coping?

2 thoughts on “Stress And Writing

  1. I’ve figured out to identify stressors early on, before they catch me and drown me in a sea of anxiety. Basically I sit down, pick up a pen, and write whatever thought pops into my head for ten minutes. Then I read through it and identify things that I need to work on, things that I need to stop worrying about etc. It just helps to keep my stress levels to a minimum, by weeding out those things that I was unaware of consciously, but were bubbing away under the surface.

Leave a Reply

