YA Scavenger Hunt: Cordelia Jensen!

Welcome to YA Scavenger Hunt! This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors…and a chance to win some awesome prizes! At this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt. Add YA_ScavengerHunt_WebBannerup the clues, and you can enter for our prize–one lucky winner will receive one signed book from each author on the hunt in my team, including HOW WE FALL! But play fast: this contest (and all the exclusive bonus material) will only be online for 72 hours!
Team Purple

Go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page to find out all about the hunt. There are SIX contests going on simultaneously, and you can enter one or all! I am a part of the Purple Team-but there is also a red team, a gold team, an orange team, a blue team, and an indie team for a chance to win a whole different set of signed books!

If you’d like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, and see the full list of prizes up for grabs, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.

SCAVENGER HUNT PUZZLE
 
Directions: Below, you’ll notice that I’ve listed my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the purple team, and then add them up (don’t worry, you can use a calculator!).
 
Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.
Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by Oct 4th, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.
SCAVENGER HUNT POST
Today, I am hosting Cordelia Jensen for the YA Scavenger Hunt!
Cordelia Jensen was Poet Laureate of Perry County, PA in 2006 and 2007. She holds an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts and teaches creative writing in Philadelphia, where she lives with her husband and children.CordeliaJensenAuthorPhoto
SKYSCRAPING is a heartrending, bold novel in verse about family, identity, and forgiveness.

Mira is just beginning her senior year of high school when she discovers her father with his male lover. Her world–and everything she thought she knew about her family–is shattered instantly. Unable to comprehend the lies, betrayal, and secrets that–unbeknownst to Mira–have come to define and keep intact her family’s existence, Mira distances herself from her sister and closest friends as a means of coping. But her father’s sexual orientation isn’t all he’s kept hidden. A shocking health scare brings to light his battle with HIV. As Mira struggles to make sense of the many fractures in her family’s fabric and redefine her wavering sense of self, she must find a way to reconnect with her dad–while there is still time.

Told in raw, exposed free verse, Skyscraping reminds us that there is no one way to be a family.

 
Find out more information by checking out her author website, viewing the book trailer, or following Cordelia on Twitter!
EXCLUSIVE CONTENT

This is a deleted scene from SKYSCRAPING. Originally, Mira spent the night at her Dickinson College visit and snuck out! Here is that deleted scene…

CONSTELLATING
9780803739260_NearlyGone_JKT.indd
The white stars burst through the black night.
Andromeda. Cassiopeia.
Pisces, two fish,
going opposite directions.
I walk to campus.
Think about Adam, how he’s in a place
like this.
I wish I could take a picture for Dylan.

Mr. Lamb says constellations
aren’t just pretty pictures.
They help us make sense of what’s out there.
Up there.
I sit on a bench, as
a cluster of students walk by,
three girls and two guys,
girls in slip dresses and baby tees,
even though it’s cold, they walk in and
around each other.

One guy’s hand on a girl’s lower back.
The other guy pulls out cigarettes,
forages through his pockets.
Noticing me on the bench,
he asks me for a light.
Cute and blond,
a heavy green flannel.
I tell him sorry, he sits beside me anyway,
asks if I’m a “Frosh”
I say yes, sure I am.
His squinty eyes sparkle,
asks do I want to come to a party.
I look at the nothingness on either side of me,
I nod
and follow the pretty picture
of him.

ALMOST SLIPPING

His name is Chris.
Gives me a beer called Yuengling.
Wonder for a minute
if Dad will check on me.
Take a sip to forget.
We’re in a huge old house,
kids dancing, playing quarters,
not so different than high school.

Except we aren’t high up. In the wind.

Satellite in my eyes . . .
Blasts the stereo, tell Chris
I like the song, he says
it’s Dave Matthews, tells me
to remember he said it first:
this band’s gonna be famous.

Chris asks about my favorite class,
I sip the Yuengling, say Philosophy,
talks with Dylan coming in handy,
he says, his too, he digs the Realists,
I say Existentialism. Metaphysics.
Another sip, sweet like apple juice,
then metallic. He asks who my teacher is,
blond hair, eyebrows, goatee,
his squinty eyes steady, kind, playful
I don’t know what to say so, instead,
I pull him in:

Kiss him hard.
Right there, in the crowd.
For a second, I can only feel him.
He pulls me closer,
kisses my neck
then back to my lips,
his breath fills me,
but when
someone shouts “get a room,”
shame devours the energy
between us and
I shrink away—

He asks my name as I run out the door,
past puddles of rain,
almost slipping, sliding back to the Inn.

Nobody noticed I was gone.

HALF-MOONS

Nobody noticed I was gone.
Nobody but Chris.
I wonder what
Adam would say,
I fall into
the blankets,
drenched.
When I wake up-
there are crescent marks,
where my nails dug into my palms,
hot pink half-moons scatter
their pale surface.

And don’t forget to enter the contest for a chance to win a ton of signed books by me, Christine, and more! To enter, you need to know that my favorite number is  3.  Add up all the favorite numbers of the authors on the purple team and you’ll have all the secret code to enter for the grand prize!

CONTINUE THE HUNT
 
To keep going on your quest for the hunt, you need to check out the next author- Emily Ross!

Leave a Reply

